NZGAP is owned by Horticulture New Zealand on behalf of New Zealand Growers. 

The programme was established over 20 years ago by growers that were committed to enhancing food safety, worker welfare and sustainability practices in the industry. 

NZGAP is overseen by the NZGAP Committee, which is a subcommittee of Horticulture New Zealand.  All HortNZ affiliated product groups and district associations are invited to become Industry Members. Foundation Members are a subset of this group (see below).

Other industry groups and organisations that support the purpose and objectives of NZGAP are invited to become Associate Members.

NZGAP Committee


Name Position  Email Phone
Tony Howey HortNZ Appointed (Chair) 021 318 441
 John Murphy HortNZ Appointed (Vegetables NZ Incorporated) 027 458 4670
Allen Lim Elected Grower 027 282 8567
Cath Carter Elected Grower 027 781 1000
Kate Trufitt Elected Grower 027 809 9779
Mathew Bannister Elected Non-Grower 021 222 0393
Mark Casey HortNZ Appointed Independent  021 512 362

The Committee is made up of:

  • Two positions appointed by HortNZ (one grower and one nominated Vegetables NZ),
  • Five positions nominated and elected by members (at least three growers), and
  • One independent position (recommended by the Committee and appointed by HortNZ)  


Members of NZGAP are the groups and associations affiliated to Horticulture New Zealand (HortNZ) under Rule 7 of the HortNZ Constitution and Rules.

Foundation Members:

The following groups are also foundation members as they supported the establishment of NZGAP: 
  • NZ Apples and Pears
  • NZ Asparagus Council
  • NZ Avocado Growers Association
  • NZ Citrus Growers
  • NZ Feijoa Growers Association
  • NZ Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated
  • NZ Passionfruit Growers Association
  • NZ Tamarillos Growers Association
  • Onions NZ
  • Persimmons Industry Council
  • Potatoes NZ Incorporated
  • Summerfruit NZ
  • Tomatoes NZ
  • Vegetables NZ Incorporated

Other Members:

  • Blackcurrants NZ Limited
  • Blueberries NZ
  • Central Otago Fruit Growers Association
  • Ettrick Fruitgrowers Association
  • Gisborne Produce Growers Association Incorporated
  • Hawke’s Bay Asparagus Growers Association
  • Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Association
  • Hawke’s Bay Vegetable Growers Association
  • Horticulture Canterbury Growers Society
  • Katikati Commercial Growers Society Limited
  • Katikati Fruitgrowers Association
  • Kerikeri Fruitgrowers Association
  • Motueka Fruitgrowers' Association
  • Moutere Hills Fruitgrowers Society
  • Northern Wairoa Vegetable & Produce Growers Society
  • NZ Boysenberry Council Limited
  • NZ Buttercup Squash Council
  • NZ KiwiBerry Growers Incorporated
  • Ohakune Growers Association
  • Organics Aotearoa New Zealand
  • Otago Vegetable & Produce Growers
  • Process Vegetable Product Group
  • Pukekohe Vegetable Growers Association Incorporated
  • South West North Island Asparagus Growers Association
  • Strawberry Growers NZ Incorporated
  • Taranaki Vegetable & Produce Growers
  • Tararua District Growers Incorporated
  • Te Awanui Huka Pak Limited
  • Te Puke Fruitgrowers Association
  • Teviot Fruit Growers Association 
  • Waikato Asparagus Growers Association
  • Waikato Fruitgrowers Association
Associate members
NZGAP Associate Membership is for growers/organisations that are engaged with the NZ Horticulture industry and wish to demonstrate their support for the objectives of the NZGAP programme. For more information please email